West Wickham and Streetly End

West Wickham & District Gardening Club

The Club arranges monthly talks on the 3rd Monday of the month from September to April on a wide variety of subjects from particular plant species to gardening techniques, from individual gardens to the history of gardening. In the summer months there are evening visits to gardens in the local area and usually a longer day trip by coach to further afield. In May each year we hold our renowned Plant Sale on a Saturday morning in the Village Hall. In August we hold our Annual Show, open to all Club members and to all residents of West Wickham, Streetly End and surrounding villages. The Club has an account with a leading seed company that means that seeds can be purchased at a discount.

The Club is affiliated to the Royal Horticultural Society and Club members can access their advice service free of charge.

Gardening Club programme for 2020

Monday 20 January.        Scented plants. Talk by Peter Jackson.

Monday 17 February.      Succulents of the northern cape of South Africa. Talk by Alex Summers.

Monday 17 March.          Flames & feathers: Tulip appreciation and obsession. Talk by Andrew Morris.

Monday 20 April.             Shade lovers. Talk by Jay & Simon McWilliams of Hedgehog Plants, Risby.

Saturday 16 May.             Plant Sale. 10.30 – 12.00, West Wickham Village Hall.

Sunday 7 June.                 Coach trip to Kathy Brown’s Garden, Stevington & Castle Ashby.

Monday 22 June.              Visit to members garden & social evening.

Monday 13 July.                Evening visit to Fullers Mill, West Stow.

Saturday 22 August.        Annual Show. 2.30 – 4.30, West Wickham Village Hall.

Monday 21 September.     Annual General Meeting.

Monday 19 October.         Trees for all seasons. Talk by Jim Paine of Walnut Tree Nursery, Attleborough.

Monday 16 November.      Growing flowers for cutting. Talk by Rob & Denise Sherriff.

Monday 21 December.       Christmas winter containers. Talk by Kevin Marsh.

Monday evening meetings are held in West Wickham Village Hall starting at 7.30 pm

Further details from: Rosemary Yallop. T: 01799 584262

Chairman: Arthur Mawby. 23 Burton End. West Wickham. Cambridge CB21 4SD

Tel: 01223 290474. Email: arthur.mawby@mypostoffice.co.uk